- University of Florida students who are registered for at least six credits and are paying Activity and Service Fees.
- Students enrolled in the remaining course(s) to complete a degree requirement are also eligible for services.
- UF students who are not currently enrolled in classes are eligible for one semester immediately following the semester in which the student was last enrolled for at least 6 credit hours and paid A&S fees.
Student Legal Services cannot provide assistance with the following matters:
• Claims involving the University of Florida, the State of Florida, or any of its agencies. For issues involving the University of Florida, please contact the University of Florida Ombudsman.
• Disputes between University of Florida students. For disputes between UF students, please contact the Conflict Resolution Initiative at the Levin College of Law.
• Matters the attorney believes to be clearly frivolous, without merit or would otherwise violate the rules regulating the Florida Bar
• Disputes in which the amount in controversy is under $100.00 or exceeds $15,000.00
• Court representation is limited to Alachua County
Student Legal Services attorneys advise students by appointment only, except at the Criminal and Traffic Clinic. In case of an emergency or time sensitive matter, we will make every effort to accommodate you as quickly as possible. Legal advice cannot be given over the telephone or by email.
In order to schedule an appointment, students are required to complete and submit an online Client Intake Form. Upon receipt of the completed Client Intake Form and verification of your eligibility to receive services, Student Legal Services will contact you to schedule an appoint to consult with an attorney.
Students are required to bring their Gator 1 card and all paperwork related to the case (i.e. promissory note, receipts, contract, invoices, citations) to their initial consultation.
If you are unable to attend your appointment you must notify Student Legal Services that you wish to cancel your appointment at least 24 hours in advance. Failure to do so will result in a $10.00 no-show fee, which must be paid in cash. The no-show fee will also be charged if you fail to bring appropriate documentation to your appointment.
CRIMINAL TRAFFIC CLINIC
In order to serve students more efficiently and effectively, Student Legal Services offers a walk-in service on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:30 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. throughout the fall and spring semesters. Any full-time UF student who has received a criminal or traffic citation, or has been arrested for a misdemeanor or 3rd degree felony can meet one-on-one with an attorney to discuss his/her case.
• Bring your Citation, Summons or Notice to Appear with you. Without documentation you cannot meet with an attorney.
• Fill out the Client Intake Form. Under the "Brief Statement of Facts" section, be sure to include the charge(s) and write CLINIC at the end of your statement.
• If you have been assigned a public defender or have hired a private attorney, Student Legal Services cannot help you.
• Assistance with traffic problems is limited to advice regarding traffic infraction(s) only. Property damage issues associated with the traffic citation must be addressed in a scheduled appointment.
• Students cannot receive assistance with expunging or sealing criminal records during clinic.
- The walk-in clinic is for a first-time consultation only. If you have already met with one of our attorneys about a traffic or criminal matter and need to meet with the attorney again for additional advise regarding the same case, you must call the office to schedule a follow-up appointment. You must meet with the same attorney who initially assisted you with your case.